The Quatervois of My Life

Quatervois

Quatervois means a crossroads; or a critical decision or turning point in one’s life. It is pronounced: ‘Qua-ter-vwa’

Yes. It is a word that takes some practice to confidently say, but packs a whole lot of meaning!

I took this photo during a Quatervois in my life. One that had taken some time to get to and a road that was not evenly paved, to say the least. I found it rather crushing and bizarre the strong need that I had to take a photograph of this turning point in my life. I stepped out of the shower, after crying for nearly twenty minutes straight, grabbed my camera, turned it towards my face and I captured this photo.

I wanted to forever record my feelings during this time and phase in my life. What better way to do this than by photographing it?

This is a large reason of why photography means as much as it does to me. To forever capture a moment in time, knowing that no matter what, I cannot change the emotion and the expression that is on my face, no matter what Photoshop or other editing service I use. This cannot be changed.

Nearly a year later, this photo is a reminder of just how far I have come and the challenges I have faced. I am hoping that this will be a “beacon of hope” or a light to others that are going through tough times. Photograph yourself. This will bring a glimmer of hope into your life because you will know that one day, as I have done today, you will be able to look back on yourself and see just how far you have come.

Tell Me What You Think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

